The Great Rock ‘N’ Roll Swindle

The Great Rock ‘N’ Roll Swindle
Publication date February, 1979


1 Bernard Brook Partridge 0:42
2 God Save The Queen (Symphony)
3 Johnny B. Goode
4 Roadrunner
5 Black Arabs
6 Substitute
7 Don’t Gimme No Lip
8 Steppin Stone
9 Louis Brennon
10 Belsen Was A Gas
11 Belsen Vos A Gaza
12 My Way (VICIOUS)
13 I Wanna Be Me
14 Something Else
15 Rock Around The Clock
16 Lonely Boy (JONES)
17 No One Is Innocent
18 C’mon Everybody (VICIOUS)
19 EMI (Symphony)
20 The Great Rock’n’Roll Swindle
21 Friggin’ In The Riggin’
22 You Need Hands
23 Who Killed Bambi
24 Anarchy in the UK
25 Pretty Vacant (Symphony)
26 Did You No Wrong
27 No Fun
28 Satellite
29 Watcha Gonna Do About It?
30 Silly Thing (COOK)

The Great Rock ‘n’ Roll Swindle is the soundtrack album of the film of the same name.
Johnny Rotten had left the band and refused to participate in the project, so the “proper” Sex Pistols tracks were done by taking Lydon’s vocals from the October 1976 demo session recordings and re-recording their instrumental tracks (done by Paul Cook and Steve Jones).

The double album features tracks that omit Rotten entirely, most of them written and recorded after he had left the band. These include Sid Vicious singing cover songs, two new original songs (“Silly Thing”, sung by Cook and “Lonely Boy”, sung by Jones), tracks Cook and Jones recorded with Ronnie Biggs, the title track and “Who Killed Bambi?” sung by Edward Tudor-Pole, and numerous novelty tracks including French street musicians playing “Anarchy in the UK” and a medley of several Sex Pistols songs covered by a disco band.