Filthy Lucre Live

Filthy Lucre Live is a live album by the reformed Sex Pistols recorded at London’s Finsbury Park on 23 June, 1996 during the band’s Filthy Lucre Tour.
Publication date July, 1996


1 Bodies
2 Seventeen
3 New York
4 No Feelings
5 Did You No Wrong
6 God Save the Queen
7 Liar
8 Satellite
9 Steppin’ Stone
10 Holidays in the Sun
11 Submission
12 Pretty Vacant
13 EMI
14 Anarchy in the U.K.
15 Problems

The album reached #26 in the UK charts, and the track “Pretty Vacant” was released as a single, charting at #18.




Sex-Pistols-Never-Mind-The-Bollocks back
The Sex Pistols Release ‘Never Mind the Bollocks’
The only studio album by English punk rock band the Sex Pistols, released on 28 October, 1977 by Virgin Records, after having been fired from two record labels.

Sex-Pistols-Never-Mind-The-Bollocks virgin inner sleeve

Sex-Pistols-Never-Mind-The-Bollocks virgin inner sleeve2

Because of the strength of the singles that had been released and partially because of the press hype that surrounded the band, the public was eager to hear the finished album and there were advance orders for 125,000 copies, which contributed to its No. 1 debut on the English rock charts on the 12th of November, 1977.
In the U.S., where the promotion was not as great, Never Mind the Bollocks only reached No. 106.

Sex-Pistols-Never-Mind-The-Bollocks virgin cass

On November 17, the album went Gold in the UK and on January 15, 1988, it was certified Platinum in the UK.
It took a little longer for “Never Mind the Bollocks” to reach such heights in the States. On December 2, 1987 it was certified Gold and on March 26, 1992, it went Platinum in the US.

A similar bootleg album of different sessions came out a few weeks prior to the Bollocks album called “SPUNK”.

“SPUNK” the demo album

Spunk is a bootleg demo album by the English punk rock band The Sex Pistols. It was originally released in the United Kingdom during September or October 1977.

sex pistols SPUNK cvr

1: Seventeen
2: Satellite
3: Feelings (No Feelings)
4: Just Me (I Wanna Be Me)
5: Submission
6: Nookie (Anarchy in the UK)
7: No Future (God Save the Queen)
8: Problems
9: Lots of Fun (Pretty Vacant)
10: Liar
11: Who was it (EMI)
12: New York (Looking For a Kiss)

13 Anarchy in the UK (July 1976 demo)
14: Pretty Vacant (July 1976 demo)
15: No Fun (Oct 1976)

sex pistols SPUNK tracks

The album comprises studio demos and talking recorded with Dave Goodman during 1976 and early 1977, while original bass player Glen Matlock was still a member of the band. Most of the songs would later be re-recorded and officially released.
Some journalists in the British music press, immediately suspected that the band’s manager, Malcolm McLaren, was responsible for the original Spunk bootleg.

The evidence for McLaren’s involvement is speculative, although his company, Glitterbest, retained rights to the demo recordings as well as the master tapes – and the demos appearing on Spunk were presented in excellent quality.
Also, the original album’s “LYN-” matrix number prefix, the record had clearly been pressed in the UK by Lyntone, a legitimate independent pressing plant that would presumably not handle anything that appeared to be a bootleg, and would certainly allow the bootlegger in question to be traced if enquiries had ever been made by the genuine copyright owner.
McLaren always publicly denied responsibility for Spunk, but said that he preferred it to Never Mind the Bollocks.